## PARISH COUNCIL

The Parish Council was formed under the Local Government Act 1894, and held its first meeting on 14th December 1894. The Reverend W.B.C.Wilder was appointed Chairman, a post he held for 38 years until his death in 1932. Parish Council Meetings were held frequently until 1906. From recorded minutes, there were seven Parish Meetings from 1906 to 1930, and at a meeting in February 1930, W.B.C.Wilder was the only person present and he was later informed that "he was the Parish Council!!". The Parish Council was re-formed in 1946, with the Reverend E.S.Barrington-Barnes as Chairman, but the minutes show that only two meetings were held.

In 1955, what can be considered the current day Parish Council began, with regular meetings held from 1955 to present times. R.S.Ryder was appointed Chairman in 1955, and held this post for the 40 years to 1995. A.W.Knight has been Chairman since 1995. Thus, in the 106 years from 1894, there have only been four Parish Council Chairmen.